wellness

Being Sick at College :(

This might seem over dramatic, (maybe because I actually feel like I’m on my deathbed) but being sick while away at college is one of the worst things you can experience. It happens slowly… then boom– you’re sick. While I was driving back to school, the usual boring 3-hour drive seemed to be stretched out into a torturous never-ending journey. I started to feel totally out of it and chugged water and blasted music as an attempt to chalk up my daze as simply being tiredness. I finally got to my house and immediately wanted to lay down. I kept thinking no no no this isn’t happening!!! (My brother had the flu and of course, now it is my turn 🙂 )I couldn’t even unpack. The next morning I felt like there were rocks in my head and that I had weights attached to my body. Ughhhhhhhh. 

I took Tylenol and a Vitamin C horse pill and forced myself to go to my classes; an 11:30, 2:30, a 2-hour night class and a 7:00 meeting… This was probably the worst thing I could do. I should’ve just accepted that I was sick and take a day to rest. However, missing class makes me feel ridiculously anxious (I have FOMC: Fear of missing class). I feel like I’ll fall too far behind to catch up and miss something important. I didn’t sleep at all the next night because I kept getting sick as nausea took over my body. The next morning I felt ten times worse. Luckily, because of the snow, my two classes were cancelled. Waking up to those emails were a BLESSING.

The next day I actually felt dead. My first instinct was to call my mom. Not having your mom/dad around to take care of you makes being sick at college a million times worse; anyone in college will tell you that. Sometimes it takes talking to your mom, or even a friend, to help you be realistic and understand that it’s totally OK to take a day and miss class, meetings or whatever. We get so caught up (or at least I do) in maintaining our schedules and getting things done. However, what I’ve learned is that being sick is not the end of the world, everything will get done eventually and all it takes are a few emails for professors to be understanding. 

This is now day 2 in my bed and my symptoms are in line with having a nasty cold. My appetite is slowly coming back, but I’m afraid that it still might be too soon to stray away from the BRAT diet– I’d rather not risk eating anything else. Water and DayQuil/ NyQuil are my BFF’s and I’ve learned that the best thing to do in regard to keeping up with work is to do as follows:

  1. Email Professors.
  2. Check course websites.
  3. Make a To-Do list.
  4. Get work done when you have energy.
  5. Rest when you “just can’t even.”
  6. Remember to take it a day at a time– health is always more important.

 

Because of Spring Break and unexpectedly having no Wi-Fi, then being sick with the flu, hopefully a YouTube video will be posted next week 🙂 

 

Leave a Reply

